Desperate times….

Decongestant tea

I have now been sick for almost a week and I am over it. I don’t even feel that bad but I am plagued by this horrible congestion that keeps me up at night, keeps me from breathing and in general makes me feel like two shades less than human. It’s not cute, nor is it fun.

I’ve tried everything – decongestants, sprays, netti pots. Nothing helps. Today I decided to try something different, and that something is what I like to call “the ass-kicker.”

What is this? It’s a tea made from ginger root, cayenne pepper, cinnamon, turmeric and raw, local honey. It’s not that bad but it’s not meant to be that good either. The honey and the cinnamon actually smell pretty good, but then you take a sip and the pepper hits you.

The hot spice woke me up and decongested me and the honey soothed my throat and, more importantly, made this tea easier to drink.

I’m not cured by any means but I am more awake and somewhat decongested. And that’s really all that matters right now.

2 Comments

July 31, 2012 · 12:07 am

2 responses to “Desperate times….

  1. Jordan

    I am going to have to remember this the next time the death plague sets in… good suggestion! Any trick to the proportions of each ingredient in this witch’s brew?

    • Hi Jordan!

      It was pretty slapdash, but I put about a quarter of an inch of raw ginger root, a dash of cayenne, two or three shakes of cinnamon, a dash of turmeric and then honey to taste. You don’t want to use too much of the pepper because it can have a pretty strong bite.

Leave a Reply

