Escapism

As long as I can recall, I have been an avid reader. A mental escapist if you will. I would go to the library with my parents and check out stacks of books while the librarian would smile at what seemed like an ambitious stack for a kid. Every other week I returned those books, having read each one.

A few years back my parents got me a Kindle for Christmas. I didn’t ask for it — I have always liked the feel of the actual book. I registered it because I’m a geek for technology, but didn’t do much.  Then I went on vacation and realized how much easier it is to take a Kindle than to pack 4-5 books.

Lately I’ve been reading a lot more, maybe it’s left over from riding the train and having the luxury of time to get absorbed in a book again. Maybe not.  Anyways, so I was sitting in on one of my company’s group personality interviews and I asked everyone what their favorite book was.  Someone ended up turning that around and asking me, and what a tough question!

Not to sound even more like a nerd than I already do, but some of my favorite books are classics. Over the last few years I have been reading the bigger classics that I was never required to read in school, and man did I miss out! War and Peace is probably my favorite – it totally inspired me to want to go to Russia. But that sounds pretentious. So I ended up with “The Count of Monte Cristo” which is also amazing! Revenge, love, travel, pirates… Can it get any more awesome?

Have you read any classics? What are some of your favorite books?

Leave a Reply

