Remembering Mamo

I’ve been a bit absent from the blogosphere lately. One of the reasons would be my aforementioned post on hitting a creative wall.  The other would be that after a few months of failing health, my grandmother passed away. It didn’t come as any particular surprise, it was somewhat obvious that her body was shutting down over the past few months, but it’s still very sad. My family is pretty close so knowing that we won’t have her warm, calm presence at family events still feels a bit hollow.

We were fortunate that she remained sharp and present of mind up until the end. Having seen another grandparent go the route of Alzheimer’s, it was definitely a blessing to be able to have a full conversation and still enjoy Mamo’s wit and wry humor.

Growing up, Mamo and Grandaddy lived maybe an hour away. I remember eating dinner in their kitchen and Mamo dancing around singing about the food. I remember running around the mountain house and picking blueberries that she would wash and serve at the table, or bake into muffins and pies. I remember accepting that I would never, ever win in a game of Scrabble. Mamo was the Scrabble master, and beat the iPad on her first go-round.

I could go on, but I wont. It suffices to say that we will all love and miss Mamo. She made friends everywhere she went (including the assisted living facility where she spent her last 5-6 weeks.) It also is a reminder that I need to head home to NC more frequently to spend time with my family.

Leave a Reply

