Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

A sweet taste of South Florida

6 Comments

Many may not know this, but South Florida has a huge agricultural community. South Dade in particular, grows all sorts of produce, from the more commonly-known citruses to gourds like squash and zucchini.

We also grow tons of fruits. While at the Redlands Farmers Market, we came across a weird, red, spiny looking fruit. When we asked we were told it was a type of lychee. We immediately bought several and ate them right then and there. They were delicious, sweet and juicy. The perfect treat for a hot October morning!

If you have never had lychees before, you peel away the skin to find a pale, white, almost translucent inside. They do contain a nut, so be careful biting into them! People use them in a variety of ways, including martinis, but I enjoy eating them straight.

South Florida Lychee

Locally-grown Lychee. PS, for more pics like these, follow me on Instagram @xtinakm

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

6 thoughts on “A sweet taste of South Florida

  1. Now you have me curious. Did you ever find out the exact name of the fruit? BB2U

    • We were told that they were lychees down at the market, but my friend from Thailand says they are actually called “rambutan.” I think they are pretty much the same thing – they taste pretty similar

  2. My most favorite fruit in the world!! SO GOOD! Did you know that Schnebly’s winery down in the Redlands makes Lychee wine? Yummmm!

    • They are delicious! Sweet but not too sweet!

      I have never actually been to Schnebly’s… It’s one of the few places in the Redlands that I still need to hit.

  3. I’ve tried the Lychee wine at Schnebly’s and from what I recall it was really good. Love their Guava wine!

Leave a Reply

