Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

Fall is finally starting to show itself…

2 Comments

It’s no secret that Autumn is my favorite season.  You see, I grew up in the Carolinas so I associate this time of year with the changing leaves, the welcome crispness of a cool morning, leaving the windows open and going to the mountains. I love the oranges, burn reds and yellows of fall. I love pumpkin everything and I relish a good excuse to wear my books and sweaters. I like being able to have a jack-o-lantern for more than 2 days and I miss toasting pumpkin seeds for snacks.

When this post came up in my SMCSF feed, I got a little jealous. I love living in Florida, but lets face it. We get the short end of the stick when it comes to fall.  For example, when you live in an urban jungle, haunted houses just aren’t the same.  When you live on the outskirts of the country, haunted hayrides and haunted houses are much, much spookier.  (Full disclosure – Halloween is my favorite holiday).  Also, pumpkin patches are actual patches, not tables set up on the side of US 1!

With that, I love that El Hombre and I can sit outside on our patio and enjoy the nights without sweltering, and the break in the humidity is nice. I am hoping for some “real fall” time when we head to Austin later this month though!

What is your favorite season?

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

2 thoughts on “Fall is finally starting to show itself…

  1. I’m from Ohio. Fall is pretty and has great smells, but I hate winter and don’t miss it. Too many falls and car wrecks and dirt and gunk piled up in snow that never fully melts.

    Miami is nice. No complaints here. Thanks for the post!

  2. I am with you! I love the Fall, too. It makes me appreciate the very basic beauty and abundance of life. It’s not the same in Florida & maybe that’s what made the farm so worth the u-turn. Halloween at Fairchild Tropical Botanical Garden is fun, but there’s nothing like the colors of the leaves, apple cider and pumpkin patches to bring me to a state of utter gratitude. Thanks for your post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

