Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

A sobering story

2 Comments

So yesterday I had an eye-opening experience that reminded me, once again, that you ALWAYS have to be aware of your surroundings.  It was around 3:30 and we were stopped at a gas station on Bird and 67th to get gas and some things for the boat.  As El Hombre was inside, I happened to look up right as a guy broke through the window of someone else’s car, stole her purse and drove off in a frenzy.

It was surreal.  There were at least 6 other cars parked, everyone outside and people walking around.  And this isn’t a bad neighborhood – in fact it’s a pretty decent neighborhood.  The car that was targeted was an expensive Benz, and the woman was pumping her gas on the other side when it happened.  The girl next to her started freaking out because really, it could have been her.  And who knows what that guy was capable of? I mean, to break into a car like that in front of a bunch of people in the middle of the day is a pretty bold move.  To drive off in a car with a personalized plate afterwards (with two customers following him) is also pretty bold. and by bold I mean stupid.

The guy working behind the counter said it was the 4th or 5th time in the last few months that this has happened there.  I won’t be back. But I will also make sure that no matter where I am, I keep my bag on me and my eyes open.

 

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

2 thoughts on “A sobering story

  1. Must have been wild (and then scary) watching it happen. You said it was surreal. Was it like watching it but not believing your eyes? Did it take a bit for it to register that it really was happening, and by that time, it was over?

    • That’s exactly what it was like. You hear about this kind of thing happening, but when you actually see it happen in front of you it’s totally different. First you are in shock, then there’s the “this didn’t just happen” feeling and then it sinks in.

Leave a Reply

