Politics and the Internet = the nastiest cyberbullying

Ok, this is my soapbox.

I hate how people use the web as a forum to be hateful.  Especially during elections.  Before I go on, let me preface this to say that this post is directed to people on both sides of the political spectrum.  I am all about reasonable discourse, and I think that no two people should agree wholeheartedly on anything. I like to debate and discuss things with people who have different ideas because it’s always another interesting perspective.  What I hate is when people start calling others stupid for having a difference of opinion. WTF is that?

I would hope that everyone was taught that people are different and that calling people stupid is the wrong thing to do.  So why, as adults, do we engage in the same opinion? Why do we put other’s down? How does that make us better as a nation?

I have seen disappointed Romney fans, and some conservatives say that we are becoming a nation like Venezuela, China, North Korea and Egypt.  First of all, we are not — we live in one of the  most free countries in the world.  Secondly, each of these countries has different ideologies.  Thirdly, if we lived in any one of these countries, you would be imprisoned, tortured or killed for making that basic statement. So quit with the drama and appreciate that you can freely voice your opinions (even dissenting ones against our government), you can raise your children however you want, you can choose your religion (or choose no religion) and wear whatever you want without persecution.  Have you stopped to think about that?

I have also see elated Obama fans.  While I am pleased to see that most of you also participated in the political process, some of you are acting like assholes.  So Romney has a lot of money – it appears he dedicated a lot of his time throughout his life to get there. I don’t know many people who would turn down the opportunity to make more money. I don’t think it’s a bad thing.  So you don’t agree with his political views. Boasting that you kicked over your neighbor’s Romney signs is quite frankly immature. You have a right to your political opinions and so do they.

Neither candidate was perfect. No president is perfect. People make mistakes in speaking (both candidates did) and you will never like every piece of legislation that is passed.  But before you start bitching about the division in Washington, look at the division you are creating in your life and in your community by abjectly refusing to list to someone else’s viewpoint, hurling insults and sharing overdramatic statements. This only continues to undermine our community, alienate people and teach children that being mean to others is acceptable.

And for the record, I think we need significant political reform that involves more political parties having the ability to come to the table. We have a political monopoly and this constant campaigning has to stop.  And yes, I am thankful that I have the freedom to write and share this post.

 

2 thoughts on “Politics and the Internet = the nastiest cyberbullying

  1. B. says:

    I wholeheartedly agree!

    Most of my friends are liberals who think lending an ear to anything remotely looking, sounding or smelling of the right wing is sacrilege. It pains me to see how, in their preaching of open-mindedness, are being the exact opposite. Being open-minded doesn’t just mean being diverse and accepting the minority — it means opening your mind to all aspects of peoples lives, thoughts and opinions.

    I’ve seen horrible things said and written about both candidates and it sickens me how educated and intelligent people can whittle their way into the brain of a child. I may not be happy with some things that the other side does or says, but I’m going to try and limit the hateful or rude remarks.

    Anyway, great post!

    • xtinakm says:

      I think your comment is a perfect summation of how I am feeling. You are absolutely correct – being open-minded means listening to and considering all opinions.

      I’m so tired of the fear mongering and the blind hatred. If you really look at both candidates, they have some pretty similar views.

      Thanks for sharing your comment!

Leave a Reply

