On dancing

As I mentioned on Friday, my troop performed at a local medieval fair called Camelot Days.  At some point on Saturday, one of my troop mates asked if I wanted to join the basket dance.  I’ve never danced with basket, but I have danced with swords, so why not?  As it turns out, dancing with baskets is actually a bit harder, especially in the wind.  They have less weight, and there is now blade and hilt to balance on either side.

Even though the wind was crazy, dirt was blowing in our eyes and acorns were falling, it was successful. And a lot of fun.  Oh yeah, and totally improved.  Because we perform ATS(r) style, we rehearse together, but you never completely know what the next cue is. And that’s what I love.

You see, I am a bit of a control freak. So throwing myself out there without knowing what’s going to happen next is totally counter my normal way of things. So this dance is exciting. It’s built on trust and good relationships.  You can tell when people do not like dancing with each other, and when they don’t have confidence in themselves.  Because it’s not how skinny or how tall you are with bellydance (unless you are in restaurant dancing.) It’s about how strong you are. And in Tribal Style, it’s about the relationships you have with your troop mates.

I also have to say we had some new students go out and it was so much fun to watch them get the confidence to join in quartets and trios to dance.  Seeing that confidence build in others is almost as gratifying as discovering it for yourself.

And here are some pics I found on Flickr!

 

4 thoughts on “On dancing

  1. Thea says:

    I cannot imagine balancing a basket anywhere, let alone outdoors. I have enough trouble with my sword at our dance studio (which has a couple of fierce air conditioning units!). Well done!

  2. Thea says:

    Do you think the width make a difference? I know I find a heavy sword easier, but I thought it was the weight rather than the size that was important?

Leave a Reply

