Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

Thoughts on this year

Leave a comment

Well, we all made it through the Mayan apocalypse and the holidays! I’ve been thinking a lot about life lately, and as we approach the new year I thought I would share.

This past year has carried a lot of change for myself and those I hold close.  Change that has been happy, sad, exciting and scary.  My family lost my beloved grandmother, who was steadfast in her love, support and humor.  Several of my friends lost people as well. Some of my friends and families also saw the ending of relationships, also very painful.

But loss is cathartic. You shed a part of yourself and you are raw and tender – but it heals and you are tougher for it. If not for loss, we would never realize what’s truly valuable in this life.

On a more positive note, several of my friends are new parents with adorable, healthy babies.  Babies that I take full advantage of cuddling and playing with for awhile, before heading home to my markedly less responsibility-free home.  Some of my friends and family got married and some of my friends are pulling up root to start life in a new place with new adventure.  (My nomadic self is definitely jealous.)

This past year has been good to me.  Yes there has been stress and loss, but I count myself fortunate to have explored new places, made new friends and spent time with those I love most.  Also, I have a lot to look forward to in the next year.  Anyone following me on Pinterest might be able to figure out why.

I’m excited to follow the adventures of my friends, and make new strides in my own life next year.  So if I don’t get a chance to sign in again before next year, Have a happy and safe new years everyone!

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

Leave a Reply

