Mountains – a travel inspired post

Last night over dinner at our favorite tapas restaurant, El Hombre and I were talking about some of our favorite trips we have taken over the years.  The conversation started because of a post we saw on Facebook, shown below.

Forest for the treesBeing from Carolinas, I am used to going to the mountains on a regular basis, and it’s one of the things I miss, living in South Florida.  It seems that when we travel, El Hombre and I gravitate towards places that have the mountains and the ocean.  California is one of our favorite places.  And what we remember about our other trips is usually how blessedly disconnected we feel when driving or hiking through the mountains.

When we look back on our memories of the redwoods for example, I can totally understand why people believe in fairies and other mystical creatures. It’s a place that you have to experience to understand, but I am always most relaxed when I am there.

Then as I was cruising through my reader, I found this post and decided to create my own mountain-oriented post.  The mountain images I have seen are from all over, and all are beautiful.  I wish I had pictures of our trips to the North Carolina mountains from when I was younger, but alas those have not been scanned.

Below, find some of my favorite mountainous places:

The Redwoods in Northern California

The Redwoods in Northern California

Oregon mountains

The mountains outside of Eurgene, Oregon

Gubbio, Italy. A medieval town tucked away in the Italian Mountains

Gubbio, Italy. A medieval town tucked away in the Italian Mountains

By far, our favorite part of our trip to Barcelona was our daytrip to Costa Brava. Like California, the mountains end in the ocean.  These were more like foothills in some point, but we hiked all around this area and loved every minute of it.

By far, our favorite part of our trip to Barcelona was our daytrip to Costa Brava. Like California, the mountains end in the ocean. These were more like foothills in some point, but we hiked all around this area and loved every minute of it.

Le Cinque Terre.  Nothing can top the view of the Ligurian sea from the mountain passes in Northwestern Italy.

Le Cinque Terre. Nothing can top the view of the Ligurian sea from the mountain passes in Northwestern Italy.

Leave a Reply

