Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

book love

Inspiration

1 Comment

El Hombre and I have a tendency to wander about the city when we aren’t really sure what we want to do. Today was one of those days, and by chance we ended up in a Barnes & Noble.  While I am hopelessly devoted to my Kindle, I still like to wander the aisles of bookstores – and there are still books that I like to have in actual print. Cookbooks primarily – who wants to risk having a computer or an e-reader near the stove and ingredients?

As I was in the aforementioned cookbook section, I flipped through a few books written by bloggers. Not chefs or TV personalities, but everyday people who work, then come home and cook with standard cooking equipment. So to go from a simple blog to being published and sold on actual bookshelves is an awesome accomplishment.

From the cookbook section I ended up in the journal section — one of my favorite sections at B&N.  I used to be a huge proponent of writing every day and I would always covet all the different types of journals.  Now there is much more variety – from standard journals to travel journals, cooking journals and things like “one line a day” journals.

It’s smart, because if you write every day, even if it’s something short, you get practice.  Every so often I feel myself falling off the bandwagon, and I force myself to write something.  Not just so I have a random post, but so I can keep some habit going.  Afterall, I may not be after a book deal, but I still want to keep my writing fluid.  After seeing other bloggers make it to print, and flipping through journals that offer so much promise, I am reinspired to keep writing.

So, next time I am suffering from writers block, clearly I just need to go to a bookstore.

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

One thought on “Inspiration

Leave a Reply

