Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

Where’s the escape hatch?

2 Comments

Today a post came up in my reader with the statement:

Describe your ultimate escape plan (and tell us what you’re escaping from).”

Great question!  My ultimate escape plan would involve hopping a flight to Liguria, Italy and setting up shop in a seaside town like Rapallo or Chiavari.  I would totally spend my days hiking and boating — leading tours of the countryside and writing.  I know some areas of Italy, like the Amalfi Coast are supposedly more pretty but I love Liguria.  It’s beautiful, laid back and not crawling with tourists.  Then again, I love pretty much everywhere I have been in Italy.  It’s one of those places where I walk around and feel at home.  I’m aching to go back.

In terms of what would I be escaping from? I think the obvious answer for anyone would be stress. I would add to that by mentioning that escapism for me isn’t just about leaving someplace, it’s about discovering something new and testing my limits.  I am in a constant state of movement and I relish the idea of adventure.  I truly do love my life and consider myself fortunate to have great friends and family and I am fortunate for my opportunities. But at heart I’m a wanderer.

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

2 thoughts on “Where’s the escape hatch?

  1. I agree with every statement in your last paragraph! I’m feeling the need to escape from some stress this week – and while I love my family and friends, I always have an urging to just take off and travel.

Leave a Reply

