Beachy Keen

The blog Where’s My Backpack likes to host weekly travel themes, and because it’s finally warming up in some places that actually have seasons, this week’s theme is beaches.  Despite the fact that I burn to a crisp when the sun even thinks about coming out, I am a total beach person. Like anyone who grew up within a few hours of the coast, my family was going to the beach for as long as I can remember.  When it comes to a summer vacation – forget lakes. I need salt water, tides and the smell of coconut sunscreen.  To me, there is nothing more soothing than the heat of the sun and the rhythm of the tides slowly washing ashore.

When it came time to go to college, I immediate chose College of Charleston.  The city is amazing and I love the low country.  When I first visited Miami, I couldn’t imagine more beautiful beaches – with the white sand and clear turquoise water.  When I moved to Miami, and lost my job shortly after, I spent each day walking along the sand and staring at the ocean.   Like the tides, I am irrevocably drawn to the coast.

Now that I live here, and have travelled to different parts of the country and the world, I find myself more drawn to beaches with mountains. There’s nothing like it — experiencing these two types of terrain all together gives me peace and calms my mind in ways I can’t explain.

Leave a Reply

