10 things I’ve learned from my dad.

Back in April, I did an early Mother’s Day post about 10 things I learned from my mom.  At that time I was stressed and looking for some positive inspiration.  Today I am in a much more relaxed state, but it’s Father’s Day, and I feel like I should share 10 things I’ve learned from my dad.  It’s important to note that I get a lot of my personality from my dad. We are both type A, high energy and love to plan things.  One of the things I admire most about my dad is his total, unwavering loyalty to our family.  We, like most families, have been through some tough times — things that split couples and families apart, but he and my mother have always persevered.  Their relationship with each other, and with us just gets stronger and stronger.  I’m definitely fortunate to have them as role models in my life.

So anyway, here are 10 things I’ve learned from my dad:

1. Always smile when you talk on the phone, even if you are in a bad mood.

2. Get to the point and keep it simple and direct when talking to people. Most people don’t care about the details. If they do, they will ask.

3. Plan for the long term. Both financially and otherwise.

4. Save at least 10% of your income for retirement.  More if you can.

5. Make sure your partner in life is also your best friend — once the excitement of a new relationship wears off, you have to like the person.

6. Don’t be afraid to stand up for your beliefs, or say what you think. Even if it’s unpopular.

7. Treat everyone equally and fairly – even if they are in a higher or lower position than you.

8. Family meals are important.

9. Laugher is also just as important.

10. We are all lucky to be here, so enjoy it. Treasure the moments you have with those you love.

One thought on “10 things I’ve learned from my dad.

Leave a Reply

