Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

To take the leap or not?

4 Comments

So here’s an interesting question:

What’s the biggest risk you’d like to take — but haven’t been able to? What would have to happen to make you comfortable taking it?

I would love to move to Italy for a few years and just travel. I’ve been saying this for years, and yet I have never done it.  Honestly, a little part of it is fear – what if I don’t make it? What if I can’t find a way to get by?

A large part of it has to do with practicality. I have been living hand-to-mouth since 2008 in an attempt to get myself out of student loan debt.  Because of this, I don’t have much in savings, the job market in Europe isn’t exactly booming and at the moment I can’t work remotely with my job.  Since my whole purpose is to live in a small town, travel and write, I need some means of getting by.  Otherwise what’s the point if I am going to be stuck in a small place, working just to get by? I can do that here. Being practical is just so tiresome and boring sometimes, right?

But then I dream about living in a flat in northern Italy – in the mountains overlooking the coast, sipping coffee in the mornings with El Hombre and writing about my adventures. I pine about hiking through trails down to the coast and enjoying prosecco with freshly caught frutti di mari or pasta al pesto. As I bike through my neighborhood, I wish I were biking through the countryside with groves and rolling hills for all the eye can see.

So once I finish my student loans, I’ll start saving!

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

4 thoughts on “To take the leap or not?

  1. That would be amazing to live like that. I wrote a post about my perfect day in my future and when I was writing it I could see myself living in Italy somewhere along the coast. Someday!

    • I think it makes it worse that I did a study abroad in the area about 10 years ago. It was too amazing for words. I almost stayed, and sometimes I think about how different my life would be, had I done so.

      • That definitely makes it worse. lol Where did you study? I didn’t study but I’ve traveled around Italy a couple of times. Both times I absolutely loved Florence!

      • I studied in a town called Chiavari in the Ligurian region. It’s about a 30-40 minute train ride from the Cinque Terre. I have been back three times now, and I love it.

        Florence is a great city, and I love Rome. Granted, I am a huge history nerd so Rome is sort of mecca for me. However, nothing is more awesome than the countryside, especially some of the lessor-travelled areas, like Liguria and Umbria.

Leave a Reply

