Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

Goals & resolutions

Leave a comment

I may have mentioned before that I don’t really like the concept of “resolutions” – I prefer goals.  There are a few reasons for this.  When we talk about resolutions we can’t help but associate them with New Years. That means that a few weeks down the line, they are forgotten when life gets in the way.

This is why I prefer to set goals. Plus I think the concept of goals is less frightening for most people – inherently you know that you aren’t going to make all of them, but you try anyways.

Last year I set several goals for myself on January 1st.  I met some, I exceeded others and I flat out missed on some.  Those goals were:

  • Pay off at least 1/3rd of my student loans (This is part of my long-term goal of getting out of debt)
    • I paid off all my loans – possibly the greatest feeling ever.
  • Travel to at least 3 new states (tentatively on the list: Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont)
    • We had a lot of great travel this year.  I made it to Vermont and Minnesota.  New Hampshire and Maine were a bust because of weather. I wouldn’t change anything about my trips though.
  • Travel to a new country
    • I finally visited Canada.  We spent a few days in Montreal, which is a fantastic city
  • Complete another 5k
    • Done, and with that I have finally established a running routine.
  • Complete a 10k
    • This was a miss but I am ok with that. I did run my first mud run, which was a blast.
  • Be more regular about my checkups
    • Done
  • Continue to stay on track with writing
    • This is sometimes a struggle for me, but I think I have gotten better. This is an ongoing goal.
  • Learn a new skill
    • I don’t know if I have learned anything new, but I feel like I am continuing to improve on existing skill sets, which is possibly more satisfactory
  • Cook a new dish a month
    • Done, but if you asked me to replicate any of them I might be at a loss
  • Start sparring again
    • Sadly this is a miss, but it’s on my list for this year
  • Improve my photography
    • I have taken little gains, but not as much as I would like

I feel like 2014 is going to be a good year, with lots of exciting things in store.  Some of the things I would like to do this year are:

  • Start sparring again
  • Work on my writing
  • Learn to stick with my priorities and not let life throw me off so easily
  • Visit a new state
  • Visit a new country
  • Run a 10k
  • Run a few 5ks
  • Build up a 4 month reserve now that I don’t have student loans
  • Continue to improve my photography

What does this year have in store for you? What kinds of goals are you setting?

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

Leave a Reply

