Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

Back to the start

Leave a comment

Sometimes I find myself asking, “why am I here?”  Not in the philosophical sense, or the whiney emo sense, but in regards to this blog.  As I looked back in my archives, I realized that I have written about quite a few things, but never once have I posted about why I am blogging here at Amaro e Dolce.

I did start this blog for a reason. But to talk about how I got here, I should mention where I came from.

You see, I used to manage a pretty popular local blog years ago.  Our beat was South Florida and all the weird and quirky things that happen here.  It was a lot of fun and I loved exploring this area and writing about it.  We had great readership, went to blog-ups, tweet ups, etc.  But my co-blogger got busy with life and I was the main contributor.  Around that time I started commuting 5 hours a day for work and by the time I got home I was too exhausted to do anything.  Of course we lost our readers and I lost interest in my blog.  I thought it was my commute, but even when I stopped my commute and switched jobs, I couldn’t get in to writing.  I felt trapped.

So I decided it was time for a new beginning.  I dropped the blogger platform and started this blog.  Admittedly, my main purpose at the time was to learn the WordPress platform, but I also wanted to keep my writing up.

Amaro e Dolce means “bitter and sweet” in Italian.  I picked the name because those two flavors span the spectrum of the taste profile. At the time, I was also all over the place and I wanted a name that represented that.  I had no idea what I wanted to write about a year ago, but I knew I didn’t want to commit to anything specific.  Perhaps that will change eventually.

So, here it is – my “hello world” post – a little late.

Thanks for reading!

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

Leave a Reply

