Why I chose to hire a wedding planner

The stereotype is that most girls start dreaming about their perfect wedding when they are kids.  They have a picture-perfect image of how everything should look.  I don’t remember ever being one of those girls. I always thought I would get married, but when it came to the details of the actual day, I didn’t focus on that.

As an adult, I have realized that I detest event planning.  It’s not my thing – which is weird because I like project management.  So when El Hombre and I got engaged and picked our location in Key West, I realized that I didn’t want to plan a wedding.  My dad suggested I consider a wedding planner and at first I was resistant.  After all, most brides nowadays search Pinterest and DIY wedding blogs and think “I can do this too.”  But I couldn’t.  I didn’t want to, and I didn’t have the time.

A common misconception is that if you hire a wedding planner, you are going to get an “out-of-the-box” wedding.  It’s not true – not if you hire the right wedding planner.  After calling and interviewing several people, I discovered Erica at  Simply You Weddings in the Keys. She came recommended by our venue and she was amazing.  Between our phone conversations and my Pinterest boards, she captured the vision I didn’t realize I had.  Our wedding was a little off-the-beaten path, and not super match-matchy.  She also had awesome alternative ideas to some of the traditional wedding stuff — like a sunset cruise instead of a rehearsal dinner and a photo book of Key West instead of a traditional guest book.

Not only that, but the vendors she picked were so spot on.  Super professional, but fun and quirky – which was a total personality fit.  We felt so comfortable and relaxed with our officiant and photographers, and I actually yelled across the dance floor to our DJ how awesome she was.

El Hombre and I are still talking about all the details we would have forgotten, and how stressed we would have been had we tried to do this on our own.  By not worrying about any of that we were able to relax and have a total blast.  Also, Erica helped me ditch my heels and get a margarita immediately.  That’s my kind of girl.

It’s been almost a week and a half, and we are still glowing.  We also are still hearing awesome details from our guests about the unique touches, and the fun everyone had.

I should also mention that this is in no way a sponsored post. But I recommend every single person and vendor we worked with along the way.

2 thoughts on “Why I chose to hire a wedding planner

  1. Jordan says:

    I love this post. You and Marco COULD have planned a great wedding but sometimes you just need to call in help. Worth every penny when it saves you stress, time and frustration.

    It’s one of the best lessons I have learned… Delegation is a great strategy if you can find the right person and when you can articulate a vision and let go of the nitty-gritty details. The project management skills in you destined you for success.

    So happy for the two of you!

    • xtinakm says:

      Thanks Jordan! We definitely could have planned this, but when I looked at the time investment + the fact that I am not in to event planning, it was a no-brainer to delegate!

Leave a Reply

