Three Songs

Today’s writing challenge is to write freely about the three most important songs in my life.  I am a music person so that’s impossible for me to pick my three favorite songs.  So, I am going to just write about three that resonate with me now.  Here goes…

Sunday Morning, Acoustic Live – Maroon 5

So, this may actually be one really important song in my life because it was our first dance at our wedding.  As I sit, listening, I am transported to that beautiful, magical night surrounded by our best friends and family.  We had a hard time picking our first dance song because, despite being together for almost 7 years, we don’t actually have a song.  But this song reminds me of the beginning of our relationship, when we would spend entire weekends together driving around Miami.  Sundays were always such amazing days because we would lounge around and things were so happy and peaceful.  Our Sundays are still like that.  I also used to listen to this song when we first got together.  When we were scrolling through songs, this one came on and I knew it was it. Not because it reminded me of the beginning of our relationship, but because we still have that same sense of love and peace in our relationship.  And as this song winds around, I can’t believe the wedding was only 4 months ago. It seems like so much longer. I am blessed to have such a great love in my life.

Best Imitation of Myself – Ben Folds Five

“I feel like a quote out of context, withholding the rest so I can be for you what you wanna see.”  If there was any opening to a song that describes how I have been feeling for a long time.  I am a weird personality in that I am extremely type-A. But sometimes I have extreme introvert modes.  I am in one of those phases right now, and I notice this happens when I have too much going on in my head.  I also find this song on repeat when it happens.  Plus, I am a huge BF5 fan and have been since I was 16 (God, that was half my life ago!) I’ve seen this band more times than is probably cool to admit, and I will go see him whenever he comes near me.  Also, full disclosure, I love “sad bastard” music.

Stop This Train – John Mayer

Every time I listen to this song I get chills, especially when he talks about not wanting to lose his parents. I will never be able to listen to this song and not think incessantly about how life is flying by too fast and how I will be a wreck when my family members die. I am also in a mode where sometimes I just want to freeze this time and let me go home again.  Well, maybe not “home” but return for a moment, an instance, to times where I was so content and happy that I thought my heart would explode with joy.  But this world is so beautiful and full of so much adventure that how can I not keep moving forward, even with the knowledge that there will always be pain and suffering to temper.  Plus, who isn’t terrified of losing family, friends or getting older at one point in life?

 

3 thoughts on “Three Songs

Leave a Reply

