Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

Life-changing moments

4 Comments

Today’s writing challenge is about loss and at first I was stumped. What do I want to write about? I don’t really want to go down the path of lost friendships because they weren’t lost. Either I or the other person walked away. I don’t want to talk about death because it felt a little cliche.  Loss of opportunity? Again, who cares.

But then it struck me. My whole story of my journey to South Florida was based out of loss, and as a result I have realized the healing power of my own strength and adaptability.

People often ask why I moved to Miami in the first place. You see, I grew up in North Carolina, and went to college in Charleston, SC.  In my senior year, I met a guy and fell head over heels.  He was not my first boyfriend, nor was he my first serious boyfriend, but he was the first person that I really, truly loved. When we graduated, we stuck around while we tried to figure out our life plans together.  Then he left Charleston and we kept a long-distance relationship. Even in our moments apart, I remember being so happy that I felt like my entire being was filled with the warm morning sunlight on a perfect beach day.

But of course it didn’t work out. We broke up on our way back from a trip to Atlanta (fun fact, this was the second time I broke up with someone on that drive) and I was devastated.  Heart-broken.  I would drive around by myself, listening to Ryan Adams albums and feeling so desperately alone.

Then I started to feel trapped.  Trapped by my loneliness, by not having a real job, by North Carolina.  My nomadic roots started to scream that it was time to get out, to go anywhere, to do anything other than what I was doing. It was time for action, not for pity parties.

So I started looking for jobs in Miami, Boston, California and Europe.  I took the first job that was offered to me, drove down to Miami, picked an apartment and a few weeks later, I was a South Beach resident.

This lead to another loss which took me down a completely different path, but that’s a story for another time…

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

4 thoughts on “Life-changing moments

  1. I envy you. To pick up and just start again, whatever the reason, is pretty darn awesome.

  2. A perfect example of the saying, “Get busy living or get busy dying.”

Leave a Reply

