Florida – a land of contrast

Today’s writing challenge is about contrast.

When I think of contrast, I keep coming back to Florida.  South Florida in particular.  Everything here seems to contrast with itself in a way that becomes completely normal, if you make it through a year or two here.  I have been here for 10 years so I don’t think twice about these things.

Yesterday I stepped out of my house in to a land of ash and smoke.  It’s summer and so dry that the Everglades were on fire. This is normal, especially if you live west in the South Florida area.  It’s unpleasant, but no longer concerning to me – we don’t get national coverage wildfires (fortunately).  Three hours later a storm blows in that rivals a monsoon.  The sky goes completely dark, and the rain pours down so hard, you can hear it clearly from any room in your office or house.  An hour later it’s sunny and muggy.

Florida summers, you are strange.  If I didn’t love the extreme contrast, I would tell you to get your life together.

 

Leave a Reply

