Amaro e Dolce

Life, unfiltered

Pura Vida – Four bits of advice for visiting Costa Rica

Leave a comment

 

Costa Rica is amazing. I think more and more people know this by now, because it’s become such a popular destination over the past ten years.

It’s been 12 years since I last visited Costa Rica and yet it almost felt like I had never been there. The country has changed, I have changed and the circumstances were very different. I liked it before, but I feel like both myself and the country has grown since we last were together.

We arrived on Valentine’s day, and there was something awesome about spending our one year wedding anniversary in such a chilled-out country, along with family. We saw several national parks, wandered around farms, ate lots of good food and chilled out on the beach. I barely had internet and the opportunity to unplug and not even carry my phone was amazing.

General thoughts on Costa Rica? Here are a few:

  • Skip San Jose, but if you do choose to spend a day there – definitely go to the Gold Museum. I now want to bone up on my Pre-Columbian history because it seems like the role of women was really interesting.
  • Definitely, DEFINITELY go zip lining. That was, without a doubt, the highlight of my trip. We did this while we were in the La Fortuna/Arenal area. SO amazing and I would do that again in a heartbeat.  Even with the rappelling part.
  • End your trip with a few days at the beach. We got up each morning, climbed down the hill to the beach to take a five-mile walk that ended with a swim in the pacific.  We spent the rest of the day relaxing in the shade – reading, napping and keeping our eyes peeled for wild monkeys and macaws.
  • Stop at any fruteria on the side of the road and get fruit. Best strawberries ever. Also, try new fruits. You won’t regret it.

I can’t wait to go back. I didn’t want to leave. Now I understand why there’s such a large ex-pat community from all other countries in the world. Costa Rica, we will see each other again soon.

Author: xtinakm

I'm a digital and interactive communications geek. My roots are Italian and Southern American and like Miami, I'm kind of all over the place.

Leave a Reply

