Keeping busy

What does a girl in Miami do when her husband is out of town for the weekend?

Apparently I cook. (And spend too much money at Sephora).

It’s too hot to park 90 miles from the beach and it’s raining like water’s going out of style. So, to distract myself from working from home (no need for unnecessary stress) I started perusing all my favorite websites.

Two days later I have enough food for the month. I also made multiple runs to the grocery store for things like 1 onion. So when it was thundering and I pulled up a ravine for cake and I had no brown sugar, I may or may not have muttered something obscene about my lack of foresight. And by “muttered” I mean “loudly exclaimed”.

So I googled “how to make 2/3rds of a cup of brown sugar” and it turns out that I had everything I need. I used this recipe from Joy the Baker because it was the closest measurement to what I needed. I quickly eschewed the fork and used my hands instead.

Most people will DIY for the personal pride of making things themselves. I do it to not leave the house.

For those who don’t want to click the link, you need:

1 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon molassis (more if you like your sugar darker)

Combine the two in a medium bowl and mix with a fork (or your hands) until the sugar is evenly coated. Like Joy the Baker says, you will feel like it won’t work out – keep going.

Leave a Reply

