On staying focused

I’ve been intentionally unemployed for almost a month now.  In the three and a half months I had leading up to this time, I set two goals for myself:  to decompress and to stay focused when not tied to calendar invites and corporate emails. I’ll be honest, I was a bit nervous that I’d end up spinning around and not doing anything of value.

Truth be told, I’ve found that it’s not that hard.  I’m very process driven and I naturally wake up early because I am used to it, so even in my “decompression” stage, I didn’t let myself fall in to the trap of sleeping in. I also moved my laptop in to our office instead of the bedroom or the kitchen so that I don’t fall in the trap of associating either room with work or research.

Now that I have time, I also find I’m getting better at eating breakfast, putting on makeup and setting realistic goals for myself. I’ve got some things on my plate in terms of professional education and certifications, but it’s not so daunting. Of course, I could be better at exercising regularly (more on that later) but nobody’s perfect and I’m working on that.

All in all, if you can find a way to take a break from the daily hustle and bustle, I advise doing so. It’s worth the leap. And in the long run, it’s important to dedicate time to yourself to stay rejuvenated and refreshed.

Leave a Reply

