Our Baby Shower: A recap and tips

Who doesn’t love a good party?

This weekend we celebrated our baby shower with our friends, and guys, it was a blast. For those who don’t know, I generally bristle at the idea of “shower-style” parties. I don’t get into games, I usually don’t know a lot of people except for the host and overall I find them awkward. I didn’t have a bridal shower and, had it not been for my friend Natalie, I wouldn’t have done a baby shower. But I’m glad I did.

You see, Natalie knows me. So there were no games and we took the same approach for this party that El Hombre and I would for any other party. We rented our condo pavilion and invited pretty much everyone we see regularly – men, women and children.  And we all had a blast. Our party was supposed to end around 6 or 7, but our last guests left around midnight. I had no idea where my phone was for the majority of the time

In my brief experiences of throwing parties, I have realized there are 3 key aspects to a successful party:

  • Good food
  • Alcohol
  • Good music

People won’t often remember the details of decorations or the venue and our personal preference is to have outdoor parties and clean, minimal decorations so that people have space to move around. What people remember is seeing friends, munching on something tasty and drinking a cold beer while watching their kids running around making friends and playing.

Because I didn’t have my phone, I didn’t take a single picture. But most of my friends did – using our hashtag, #marcheztwins.  Here’s a few that I lifted off FaceBook:

2 thoughts on “Our Baby Shower: A recap and tips

  1. Rose says:

    Awww…I had no idea your baby shower was this weekend. I’m so happy you had a great time. Have fun opening the gifts! It’s always nice to figure out where/how to put them together or use them. Be sure to update your registry, if you can 🙂

    Xoxo

Leave a comment