Haunted by wanderlust.

It’s back. That restless need to experience new things and see new places. Historically, I’ve always been restrained by a desk job and a meeting schedule but now it’s different. I have no place to be except for here. And in South Florida there are still nooks and crannies that I can explore. But I’m held back from exploring for much more physical reasons. Shortness of breath, inability to lean over, the bone-in exhaustion that comes with too much activity.

I think I’ve always been haunted by this sort of wanderlust.

In the past I dreamed of faraway places like Egypt or Japan. But now I am deeply curious by all the wonders that this country has to offer. My latest fixation is the Southwest. I am dying to take a trip through New Mexico, Arizona and Utah. I also think of turning up north on that trip and revisiting Yellowstone – a park that stamped an indelible memory on my soul (and may possibly be the reason I got pregnant.)

I want to experience deserts and mountains. To hike through crazy rock formations and admire rivers cutting their way through the landscapes.  To be on the road and stop at crazy scenic spots and quirky local shops.

It will be interesting to see if these girls inherit my urge to see the world. I can’t help but envision them in part of these adventures. Only time will tell, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

