Get it done

Frequently my friends will ask how I’m coping with not working. As I mentioned before, I’ve always been that person who runs a million miles an hour, and slowing down isn’t necessarily my strong suit. Admittedly, I’ve struggled a little more with this in the past couple of days. I’ve been feeling like I have a million things to do and no energy to do them. I’ve also started feeling overwhelmed, like I’m forgetting things. I’m not happy when I don’t feel productive and I feel guilty when I feel like my husband has to do all the heavy lifting.

Then this morning it occurred to me that just because I’m not working doesn’t mean I can’t resurrect old habits. So when El Hombre jokingly asked what was on the agenda this week, I wrote it all down. I mean, duh! I’ve always been a list person and after 5-6 years of working within some form of an agile methodology, I know how to easily rank and prioritize my items.

Can I tell you how much better I feel, now that I’ve crossed a bunch of this stuff off my list? Seriously! From calling insurance companies to pesky errands, I’m finally getting stuff done that I’ve been procrastinating on. And it makes me feel more in control, because the last thing I need is to have these babies come and everything up in the air.

 

Leave a Reply

